Community
Message Board

Chat room - users
Game Over
( 394431 downloads)
Work In Progress
( 523201 downloads)
Links

Code Exchange
Downloads
Tutorials
Add to Favourites

Submit news

DIV ARENA FORUMS
Not logged in [Login - Register]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
 Pages:  1  2
Author: Subject: Tutorial?
dom cook
Div Pro
******




Posts: 372
Registered: 4-3-2016
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 11-5-2019 at 01:21 PM


Publish the example, I don't know what you mean?
Do you mean for me to rewrite the line of source code and upload it to GitHub?

If you mean I should compile it, I'm afraid I haven't got a clue how to do that.

Or are you referring to the example which illustrates the issue? That's posted 5 posts up from here with a helpful screenshot.

Here's the code.

Code:
PROGRAM m7bug; GLOBAL ground_map; file1; map; ground_wide = 512; ground_high = 512; modex=800; modey=600; //------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- private i; BEGIN restore_type= no_restore; x=ground_wide/2; y=ground_high-32; mouse.x=100; mouse.y=100; map=makemap(); set_fps(60,0); //write_int(0,10,10,0,&fps); set_mode(800600); define_region(1,0,0,400,300); define_region(2,0,300,400,300); define_region(3,400,0,400,300); define_region(4,400,300,400,300); from i=1 to 4; start_mode7(i, file1, ground_map,0, i, 128+i*16); m7[i].height = 3210; m7[i].distance = 1144; m7[i].color = 210; m7[i].camera = map; m7[i].horizon =-200; m7[i].focus = 500; m7[i].z = 0; end marker(); END //---------------------------------------------- process marker(); begin graph=new_map(100,100,50,50,rand(0,255)); x=500; y=0; ctype=c_m7; loop frame; end end //--------------------------------------------------------------------------- PROCESS makemap() PRIVATE i; j; BEGIN ctype = c_m7; x=ground_wide/2; y=ground_high/2; //graph=3; angle=90000; ground_map =new_map(ground_wide,ground_high,ground_wide/2,ground_high/2,16*rand(0,14)); loop if(key(_a)) angle+=3000; end if(key(_d)) angle-=3000; end frame; end END //---------------------------------------------------------------------------


[Edited on 11-5-2019 by dom cook]
View user's profile View All Posts By User
CicTec
DIV Pro
******




Posts: 446
Registered: 6-8-2016
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 11-5-2019 at 01:43 PM


Quote: Originally posted by dom cook  

Or are you referring to the example which illustrates the issue? That's posted 5 posts up from here with a helpful screenshot.

Here's the code.

Code:
PROGRAM m7bug; GLOBAL ground_map; file1; map; ground_wide = 512; ground_high = 512; modex=800; modey=600; //------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- private i; BEGIN restore_type= no_restore; x=ground_wide/2; y=ground_high-32; mouse.x=100; mouse.y=100; map=makemap(); set_fps(60,0); //write_int(0,10,10,0,&fps); set_mode(800600); define_region(1,0,0,400,300); define_region(2,0,300,400,300); define_region(3,400,0,400,300); define_region(4,400,300,400,300); from i=1 to 4; start_mode7(i, file1, ground_map,0, i, 128+i*16); m7[i].height = 3210; m7[i].distance = 1144; m7[i].color = 210; m7[i].camera = map; m7[i].horizon =-200; m7[i].focus = 500; m7[i].z = 0; end marker(); END //---------------------------------------------- process marker(); begin graph=new_map(100,100,50,50,rand(0,255)); x=500; y=0; ctype=c_m7; loop frame; end end //--------------------------------------------------------------------------- PROCESS makemap() PRIVATE i; j; BEGIN ctype = c_m7; x=ground_wide/2; y=ground_high/2; //graph=3; angle=90000; ground_map =new_map(ground_wide,ground_high,ground_wide/2,ground_high/2,16*rand(0,14)); loop if(key(_a)) angle+=3000; end if(key(_d)) angle-=3000; end frame; end END //---------------------------------------------------------------------------


[Edited on 11-5-2019 by dom cook]

exactly that :), later I try it and let you know
View user's profile View All Posts By User
CicTec
DIV Pro
******




Posts: 446
Registered: 6-8-2016
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 12-5-2019 at 11:10 AM


Ok, i've tested and yes, the bug is what you have indicated and the fix code the same, now hotpoint rotates together with the figure remaining always in the tip, here the screenshot:
DIVDX_mode7_bug_fixed.png - 7kB

Congratulations for having found the bug without knowledge in C. :)


View user's profile View All Posts By User
dom cook
Div Pro
******




Posts: 372
Registered: 4-3-2016
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 12-5-2019 at 06:23 PM


That's great. Thanks for sorting that out. To be honest though, I do have knowledge of C. I used it in a project about 15 years ago. It's just that I just wouldn't be able to write anything in it these days. But reading and writing are two different things. It's the same with Spanish.

So now, how would I go about getting the fixed version? Will there be a new build or something?

View user's profile View All Posts By User
CicTec
DIV Pro
******




Posts: 446
Registered: 6-8-2016
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 12-5-2019 at 06:33 PM


Quote: Originally posted by dom cook  
That's great. Thanks for sorting that out. To be honest though, I do have knowledge of C. I used it in a project about 15 years ago. It's just that I just wouldn't be able to write anything in it these days. But reading and writing are two different things. It's the same with Spanish.

You are welcome. :)

it is good to have knowledge in C, even if minimal. :)

Quote: Originally posted by dom cook  

So now, how would I go about getting the fixed version? Will there be a new build or something?

This is a bit of a problem at present, unfortunately my current PC has problems with the latest versions of windows 10 due to video driver issues, so I had to switch to Linux and have no form when it comes to generating builds for windows in a simple way or to test them (I should start windows, hoping that it doesn't crash, but if it happens I have to manually turn off the machine and risk damage to the disk, etc ...).

Furthermore the current official repository does not contain all the latest fixes made by me with the latest build generated (over 40 bugs).

The best solution would be at the moment if you can install the compilation environment, download the latest code from my repository, fix the mode7 yourself (or maybe I upload the fix in the repository) and then generate the build yourself.

If you tell me which operating system you are using I can give you a hand with installing the development environment.
View user's profile View All Posts By User
dom cook
Div Pro
******




Posts: 372
Registered: 4-3-2016
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 12-5-2019 at 07:05 PM


As things stand I'm borrowing my wife's laptop when it's free. I have a desktop folder on it with all my stuff in it but I can't really take it over and start installing stuff. I've been meaning to get my own computer for the last 3 years but have just never got around to it However it's now looking like I'm going to have to bite the bullet and get one. I know you suggested Linux to me in the past so I 'll look to getting one of those.

My next question is, do you have any suggestions about make or specs? The easiest thing would be for me to order one from Dell. Is that a bad idea?
View user's profile View All Posts By User
CicTec
DIV Pro
******




Posts: 446
Registered: 6-8-2016
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 12-5-2019 at 07:26 PM


Quote: Originally posted by dom cook  
As things stand I'm borrowing my wife's laptop when it's free. I have a desktop folder on it with all my stuff in it but I can't really take it over and start installing stuff. I've been meaning to get my own computer for the last 3 years but have just never got around to it However it's now looking like I'm going to have to bite the bullet and get one.

Yes, I understand you, maybe now it's a good excuse to take the new PC. ;)

Quote: Originally posted by dom cook  

I know you suggested Linux to me in the past so I 'll look to getting one of those.

In reality I had suggested Windows, being the most used operating system in terms of game development and game engine, it was Mike who suggested you Linux.

Quote: Originally posted by dom cook  

My next question is, do you have any suggestions about make or specs? The easiest thing would be for me to order one from Dell. Is that a bad idea?

If we talk about hardware specifications for the new PC and a complete set-up for developing your games and working with DIV (even just generating builds for fixes and testing), my suggestions are these:
- CPU at least of an Intel i5 at 2.8ghz, better with integrated intel GPU (although now all models have this).
- at least 16GB of RAM
- discrete video card (preferably NVIDIA) with at least 8GB of ram (there are many models, let's say a version within your pocket with good performances for 3D).
- 250GB SSD disk for installing windows 10 (possibly PRO version) and some programs (including the development environment).
- 1GB HDD disk (Western Digital advice) for Linux distro installation (in order to have more operating systems) to be partitioned, a 500GB for use of 2 Linux distro and 500GB for any virtualized versions.
- 1GB HDD disk with external box for all your data and more (I recommend making periodic backups at least every 10-15 days).

With this you should be able to fit everything you need.
View user's profile View All Posts By User
dom cook
Div Pro
******




Posts: 372
Registered: 4-3-2016
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 12-5-2019 at 07:50 PM


Ok Thanks, I'll start looking.
View user's profile View All Posts By User
CicTec
DIV Pro
******




Posts: 446
Registered: 6-8-2016
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 12-5-2019 at 08:07 PM


You're welcome.

You could also try on amazon, there are many offers and lower prices compared to other parts for many things (even if it depends a lot on the country), if you are also an assembly expert you could buy the separate pieces and mount the PC yourself.
View user's profile View All Posts By User
 Pages:  1  2

  Go To Top

Powered by XMB
XMB Forum Software © 2001-2012 The XMB Group
[Queries: 18]