Community
Message Board

Chat room - users
Game Over
( 394431 downloads)
Work In Progress
( 523201 downloads)
Links

Code Exchange
Downloads
Tutorials
Add to Favourites

Submit news

DIV ARENA FORUMS
Not logged in [Login - Register]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Crashing upon save
BreadCaster
Loyalty Card Holder
******


Avatar


Posts: 223
Registered: 2-3-2016
Member Is Offline


mad.gif posted on 8-3-2017 at 09:22 PM
Crashing upon save


Hi allll

so I've been attempting to run DivDX on my Macbook pro. It's a very old outdated thing but its the only PC I have available to me at the moment - so I've been using VirtualBox VM (Windows XP) to run my favourite windows applications. (the Mac build of DivDX does not work on this version of OSX.) Bennu always worked fine on my VirtualBox machine, in fact I developed most of Cybercrisis on it (which is still coming out, I swear! :p game's done but we still need to shoot FMV.)

However, whenever i attempt to save anything in DivDX as a new file, it simply crashes. No reasons as to why, it crashes. I can clone files and modify the contents, but when I try to save a new program, DivDX just says "the indicated file could not be saved" and when trying to save a .WLD file, the whole program just exits!

Any theories behind this? Or possible fixes? Will be a good 2 or 3 months until I have another PC.

Thanks



Dani




~*~ Princess of Pies and Pastries ~*~
View user's profile View All Posts By User
MikeDX
DIV Nerd
*********


Avatar


Posts: 8388607
Registered: 25-2-2016
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 8-3-2017 at 10:22 PM


You could try to build it yourself. I wouldn't trust any emulated builds (however I have had a lot of success running the windows exe under wine on a mac.

View user's profile View All Posts By User
BreadCaster
Loyalty Card Holder
******


Avatar


Posts: 223
Registered: 2-3-2016
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 9-3-2017 at 12:02 AM


I would not have the foggiest idea about that Mikey!! i cant even get my head around github. I did try to get it working using Winebottler but it doesnt seem to like it, just seems to hang and not open properly. :(



~*~ Princess of Pies and Pastries ~*~
View user's profile View All Posts By User
CicTec
DIV Pro
******




Posts: 156
Registered: 6-8-2016
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 9-3-2017 at 07:11 AM


Hello BreadCaster,

It seems that Mac will not allow DIV write privileges for the files, try to set up a shared folder in Virtualbox that allows read/write, then installs DIV in that folder and try to run it in the VM to see if it works.
View user's profile View All Posts By User
BreadCaster
Loyalty Card Holder
******


Avatar


Posts: 223
Registered: 2-3-2016
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 9-3-2017 at 10:50 AM


Thanks for the advice Cictec - sadly I just tried this and it wouldnt work, just crashes. Both the Div EXE and the folder I was trying to save to were in the shared folder, and it still crashes. D:

(and yes, the shared folder has read and write permissions haha)

[Edited on 9-3-2017 by BreadCaster]




~*~ Princess of Pies and Pastries ~*~
View user's profile View All Posts By User
CicTec
DIV Pro
******




Posts: 156
Registered: 6-8-2016
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 9-3-2017 at 06:03 PM


Ok, then the only way is compiling DIV yourself for Mac.

- Go here: https://github.com/DIVGAMES/DIV-Games-Studio
- Click "clone or download" -> "Download ZIP", to download entire source code
- Uncompress ZIP (even on desktop)
- Open command console, locate to directory of DIV uncompressed
- digit: ./cmake && make .

This should allow you to build in, if you have problems, just copy and paste the output of consoles to see what happens.
View user's profile View All Posts By User
BreadCaster
Loyalty Card Holder
******


Avatar


Posts: 223
Registered: 2-3-2016
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 10-3-2017 at 12:22 AM


okay, I gave it a try and got this:

Code:
amsyss-MacBook-Pro:~ test$ cd desktop amsyss-MacBook-Pro:desktop test$ cd Div-Games-Studio-master amsyss-MacBook-Pro:Div-Games-Studio-master test$ ./cmake && make -bash: ./cmake: No such file or directory amsyss-MacBook-Pro:Div-Games-Studio-master test$ digit: ./cmake && make -bash: digit:: command not found amsyss-MacBook-Pro:Div-Games-Studio-master test$ /cmake -bash: /cmake: No such file or directory amsyss-MacBook-Pro:Div-Games-Studio-master test$ ./cmake -bash: ./cmake: No such file or directory amsyss-MacBook-Pro:Div-Games-Studio-master test$ ./makefile.droid ./makefile.droid: line 11: OSDEP: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 13: FMEMOPEN: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 14: wildcard: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 14: wildcard: command not found src/shared/lib/zip/src/zip.c: line 1: /Applications: is a directory src/shared/lib/zip/src/zip.c: line 2: THE: command not found src/shared/lib/zip/src/zip.c: line 3: EXPRESS: command not found src/shared/lib/zip/src/zip.c: line 4: MERCHANTABILITY,: command not found src/shared/lib/zip/src/zip.c: line 5: IN: command not found src/shared/lib/zip/src/zip.c: line 6: OTHER: command not found src/shared/lib/zip/src/zip.c: line 7: ARISING: command not found src/shared/lib/zip/src/zip.c: line 8: OTHER: command not found src/shared/lib/zip/src/zip.c: line 9: dll/: is a directory src/shared/lib/zip/src/zip.c: line 17: /Applications: is a directory src/shared/lib/zip/src/zip.c: line 34: syntax error near unexpected token `(' src/shared/lib/zip/src/zip.c: line 34: `char *basename(const char *name) {' ./makefile.droid: line 16: wildcard: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 18: wilcard: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 20: wildcard: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 22: wildcard: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 28: wildcard: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 30: wildcard: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 33: SOURCES:%.c=divide/%.c.o: No such file or directory ./makefile.droid: line 34: RUNSOURCES:%.c=div2/%.c.o: No such file or directory ./makefile.droid: line 35: RUN1SOURCES:%.c=div1/%.c.o: No such file or directory ./makefile.droid: line 37: VISOR_SOURCES:.c=.o: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 38: VPE_SOURCES:.c=.o: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 44: -lSDL: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 46: -g: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 51: EXECUTABLE: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 51: RUNTIME: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 51: RUNTIME1: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 51: debug: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 52: EXECUTABLE: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 52: RUNTIME: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 52: RUNTIME1: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 52: release: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 54: EXECUTABLE: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 54: RUNTIME: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 54: RUNTIME1: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 54: all:: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 55: dirs:: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 57: divide:: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 63: div1:: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 69: div2:: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 75: div2-ide:: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 76: EXECUTABLE: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 76: OBJS: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 76: VISOROBJS: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 77: CC: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 77: OBJS: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 77: VISOROBJS: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 77: DROIDLIBFLAGS: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 77: -o: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 79: divide/%.c.o:: No such file or directory ./makefile.droid: line 80: CC: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 80: CFLAGS: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 80: -o: No such file or directory ./makefile.droid: line 84: div1/%.c.o:: No such file or directory ./makefile.droid: line 85: CC: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 85: CFLAGS: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 85: -o: No such file or directory ./makefile.droid: line 87: div2/%.c.o:: No such file or directory ./makefile.droid: line 88: CC: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 88: CFLAGS: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 88: -o: No such file or directory ./makefile.droid: line 90: div2-run:: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 91: RUNTIME: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 91: RUNOBJS: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 91: VPEOBJS: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 92: CC: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 92: RUNOBJS: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 92: VPEOBJS: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 92: DROIDLIBFLAGS: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 92: -o: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 94: div1-run:: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 95: RUNTIME1: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 95: RUN1OBJS: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 96: CC: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 96: RUN1OBJS: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 96: DROIDLIBFLAGS: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 96: -o: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 99: clean:: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 100: EXECUTABLE: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 100: OBJS: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 100: RUNOBJS: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 100: RUN1OBJS: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 100: VISOROBJS: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 100: RUNTIME: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 100: VPEOBJS: command not found ./makefile.droid: line 100: RUNTIME1: command not found amsyss-MacBook-Pro:Div-Games-Studio-master test$ make -bash: make: command not found amsyss-MacBook-Pro:Div-Games-Studio-master test$


I tried a bunch of things, as you can probably see - can you tell ive never used the command line on a Mac before? :p




~*~ Princess of Pies and Pastries ~*~
View user's profile View All Posts By User
CicTec
DIV Pro
******




Posts: 156
Registered: 6-8-2016
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 10-3-2017 at 08:37 AM


Ok, try simply:
- cmake && make .

If still not working, you have to install CMake, then, go here: https://cmake.org/download/, download package for Mac OS X, install it, then try again "./cmake && make ." or "cmake && make ." from the console.

If you continue to have problems, copy and paste the output.
View user's profile View All Posts By User
BreadCaster
Loyalty Card Holder
******


Avatar


Posts: 223
Registered: 2-3-2016
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 10-3-2017 at 11:01 AM


Quote: Originally posted by CicTec  
Ok, try simply:
- cmake && make .

If still not working, you have to install CMake, then, go here: https://cmake.org/download/, download package for Mac OS X, install it, then try again "./cmake && make ." or "cmake && make ." from the console.

If you continue to have problems, copy and paste the output.


Thanks for all your help so far Cictec.

okay, i installed cmake, navigated to the directory and tried again - and I got the same kind of response... code here:

Code:
amsyss-MacBook-Pro:Div-Games-Studio-master test$ cmake && make -bash: cmake: command not found amsyss-MacBook-Pro:Div-Games-Studio-master test$ cmake && make . -bash: cmake: command not found amsyss-MacBook-Pro:Div-Games-Studio-master test$ ./cmake && make . -bash: ./cmake: No such file or directory amsyss-MacBook-Pro:Div-Games-Studio-master test$ - cmake && make . -bash: -: command not found amsyss-MacBook-Pro:Div-Games-Studio-master test$ cmake && make -bash: cmake: command not found amsyss-MacBook-Pro:Div-Games-Studio-master test$ /cmake && make -bash: /cmake: No such file or directory amsyss-MacBook-Pro:Div-Games-Studio-master test$ cmake -bash: cmake: command not found amsyss-MacBook-Pro:Div-Games-Studio-master test$


is there something i'm missing possibly? :/

UPDATE: tried something else, got a different message:

Code:
amsyss-MacBook-Pro:tools test$ ls amiga.cmake folder2div.bat makedll.sh osx.cmake windows.cmake app.sh gcw.cmake makedroid.bat pandora.cmake zip2div.bat atarist.cmake gitdatelog.sh makegcw.bat pi.cmake zip2divarena.sh defaults.cmake gp2x.cmake makehtml.bat ps2.cmake dx.png linux.cmake makepnd.bat psp.cmake amsyss-MacBook-Pro:tools test$ .osx.cmake -bash: .osx.cmake: command not found amsyss-MacBook-Pro:tools test$ ./osx.cmake ./osx.cmake: line 2: syntax error near unexpected token `HAS_SDL' ./osx.cmake: line 2: `SET(HAS_SDL 1)' amsyss-MacBook-Pro:tools test$ ./osx.cmake && make ./osx.cmake: line 2: syntax error near unexpected token `HAS_SDL' ./osx.cmake: line 2: `SET(HAS_SDL 1)' amsyss-MacBook-Pro:tools test$


[Edited on 10-3-2017 by BreadCaster]




~*~ Princess of Pies and Pastries ~*~
View user's profile View All Posts By User
CicTec
DIV Pro
******




Posts: 156
Registered: 6-8-2016
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 10-3-2017 at 03:08 PM


Something is not configured properly, try reinstalling with following guide:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sK4sVg4SRsg

One installed open the terminal (bash), locate to DIV dir, then:
cmake && make .

Or if not work:
cmake .

If finish successfull:
make

This should compile finally DIV for your Mac, if you continue to have problems, copy and paste the output.
View user's profile View All Posts By User
BreadCaster
Loyalty Card Holder
******


Avatar


Posts: 223
Registered: 2-3-2016
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 11-3-2017 at 11:33 AM


Quote: Originally posted by CicTec  
Something is not configured properly, try reinstalling with following guide:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sK4sVg4SRsg

One installed open the terminal (bash), locate to DIV dir, then:
cmake && make .

Or if not work:
cmake .

If finish successfull:
make

This should compile finally DIV for your Mac, if you continue to have problems, copy and paste the output.


okay, well Cmake now seems to be installed for command line - its still having trouble making DIV though:

Code:
amsyss-MacBook-Pro:~ test$ cd amsyss-MacBook-Pro:~ test$ ls Applications Downloads Music VirtualBox VMs pslog.txt Desktop Library Pictures Wine Files Documents Movies Public dwhelper amsyss-MacBook-Pro:~ test$ cd desktop amsyss-MacBook-Pro:desktop test$ cd div-games-studio-master amsyss-MacBook-Pro:div-games-studio-master test$ cmake --version cmake version 3.8.0-rc2 CMake suite maintained and supported by Kitware (kitware.com/cmake). amsyss-MacBook-Pro:div-games-studio-master test$ cmake && make . Usage cmake [options] <path-to-source> cmake [options] <path-to-existing-build> Specify a source directory to (re-)generate a build system for it in the current working directory. Specify an existing build directory to re-generate its build system. Run 'cmake --help' for more information. -bash: make: command not found amsyss-MacBook-Pro:div-games-studio-master test$ cmake . CMake Error: CMake was unable to find a build program corresponding to "Unix Makefiles". CMAKE_MAKE_PROGRAM is not set. You probably need to select a different build tool. CMake Error: CMAKE_C_COMPILER not set, after EnableLanguage CMake Error: CMAKE_CXX_COMPILER not set, after EnableLanguage -- Configuring incomplete, errors occurred! amsyss-MacBook-Pro:div-games-studio-master test$




~*~ Princess of Pies and Pastries ~*~
View user's profile View All Posts By User
CicTec
DIV Pro
******




Posts: 156
Registered: 6-8-2016
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 12-3-2017 at 08:18 AM


Well, you don't have installed developers tools, you need to install also XCode and command line tools (such as GCC, Make, etc...), install it with the following guide:
http://osxdaily.com/2014/02/12/install-command-line-tools-ma...

Then try again to call "cmake && make ." or "cmake ." and "make" if still not working reinstall again cmake, so it can set up all and try again to call commands to build DIV.
View user's profile View All Posts By User
BreadCaster
Loyalty Card Holder
******


Avatar


Posts: 223
Registered: 2-3-2016
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 17-3-2017 at 09:18 AM


Quote: Originally posted by CicTec  
Well, you don't have installed developers tools, you need to install also XCode and command line tools (such as GCC, Make, etc...), install it with the following guide:
http://osxdaily.com/2014/02/12/install-command-line-tools-ma...

Then try again to call "cmake && make ." or "cmake ." and "make" if still not working reinstall again cmake, so it can set up all and try again to call commands to build DIV.



sadly my version of OSX is too old to download and run xcode - entering the commands from that page simply gave me this:
Code:
amsyss-MacBook-Pro:~ test$ xcode-select --install Usage: xcode-select -print-path or: xcode-select -switch <xcode_folder_path> or: xcode-select -version Arguments: -print-path Prints the path of the current Xcode folder -switch <xcode_folder_path> Sets the path for the current Xcode folder -version Prints xcode-select version information amsyss-MacBook-Pro:~ test$ xcode -bash: xcode: command not found amsyss-MacBook-Pro:~ test$


And when trying to install xcode from the app store it said "We could not complete your purchase. Xcode couldnt be installed on Macintosh HD because Mac OS X version 10.11.5 or later is required." :(:thumbdown:




~*~ Princess of Pies and Pastries ~*~
View user's profile View All Posts By User
CicTec
DIV Pro
******




Posts: 156
Registered: 6-8-2016
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 17-3-2017 at 09:34 AM


What version of OS X you have installed?
View user's profile View All Posts By User
BreadCaster
Loyalty Card Holder
******


Avatar


Posts: 223
Registered: 2-3-2016
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 17-3-2017 at 09:49 AM


OSX version 10.7.5, Id like to update but i dont have anywhare to back my files up in case it goes wrong - plus I have a few programs on here and I dont know if theyll work with a newer OSX or if ill be able to reinstall them if they dont work :/



~*~ Princess of Pies and Pastries ~*~
View user's profile View All Posts By User
CicTec
DIV Pro
******




Posts: 156
Registered: 6-8-2016
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 17-3-2017 at 10:13 AM


I understand, i have to see if you can install the command line tool (GCC/Clang, make, etc...) without installing Xcode and configure cmake, I do not have a mac then we should go for trial, if I find some other useful guides for you I will let you know.
View user's profile View All Posts By User
BreadCaster
Loyalty Card Holder
******


Avatar


Posts: 223
Registered: 2-3-2016
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 17-3-2017 at 11:03 AM


Quote: Originally posted by CicTec  
I understand, i have to see if you can install the command line tool (GCC/Clang, make, etc...) without installing Xcode and configure cmake, I do not have a mac then we should go for trial, if I find some other useful guides for you I will let you know.


Thanks Cictec, youve been really good persisting in trying to get this sorted and its appriciated :)

Is there any way of running a virtual machine of OSX and compiling it on there remotely, then uploading the build and letting people download it?




~*~ Princess of Pies and Pastries ~*~
View user's profile View All Posts By User
CicTec
DIV Pro
******




Posts: 156
Registered: 6-8-2016
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 17-3-2017 at 01:51 PM


Quote: Originally posted by BreadCaster  
Quote: Originally posted by CicTec  
I understand, i have to see if you can install the command line tool (GCC/Clang, make, etc...) without installing Xcode and configure cmake, I do not have a mac then we should go for trial, if I find some other useful guides for you I will let you know.


Thanks Cictec, youve been really good persisting in trying to get this sorted and its appriciated :)

It's a pleasure for me.

Quote: Originally posted by BreadCaster  

Is there any way of running a virtual machine of OSX and compiling it on there remotely, then uploading the build and letting people download it?

Speaking of the desktop, if you have a VM installed in your Mac you can have:
- Windows virtualized, so you can built DIV for windows.
- Linux virtualized, so you can built using a cross compiler, DIV for Linux and Windows, I do not know if can compile for Mac.

So now to compile for Mac, you must do it natively or in a VM with Linux (if you can).

I unfortunately do not have a Mac, otherwise I would have built DIV for you and other users.

[Edited on 17-3-2017 by CicTec]
View user's profile View All Posts By User
MikeDX
DIV Nerd
*********


Avatar


Posts: 8388607
Registered: 25-2-2016
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 19-3-2017 at 11:04 PM


Dan, I've been really busy lately so DIV has had to take a back seat

My plan is to have a docker auto build for the osx setup at some point.

In the mean time I can try to help you build for OSX, but sadly it is not trivial.

The first thing you need is to install the brew osx package manager, from there you can install all the libs you need. You'll need xcode installed too (but you dont need the full package)

Will try to give you more info tomorrow
View user's profile View All Posts By User
BreadCaster
Loyalty Card Holder
******


Avatar


Posts: 223
Registered: 2-3-2016
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 20-3-2017 at 09:47 PM


hay Mikey

Okay, fair enough - I dont know if this mac will run those things so i may just see if i can set up my tower pc with windows 7 on in the communal space in my new house, hopefully that means ill be able to get to work on this new 3d project I want to put together :)

BTW - exciting stuff - I managed to stick together a dynamic WLD & process list loader which corresponds to specific sectors (made & tested it using the example WLD id made alredy) - so expect some room over room level design when the alpha of this thing is out :D




~*~ Princess of Pies and Pastries ~*~
View user's profile View All Posts By User
CicTec
DIV Pro
******




Posts: 156
Registered: 6-8-2016
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 23-3-2017 at 09:44 PM


Quote: Originally posted by BreadCaster  

BTW - exciting stuff - I managed to stick together a dynamic WLD & process list loader which corresponds to specific sectors (made & tested it using the example WLD id made alredy) - so expect some room over room level design when the alpha of this thing is out :D

So you've managed to get an implementation/emulation rooms above rooms on mode8 through the process? very interesting, congratulations, the original engine used by mode8 contains this feature natively, but for some reason has been eliminated during the development of mode8.

I hope to see an alpha / demo of it as soon as possible.
View user's profile View All Posts By User

  Go To Top

Powered by XMB
XMB Forum Software © 2001-2012 The XMB Group
[Queries: 18]