johnno56
DIV Junior
Posts: 10
Registered: 8-1-2017
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Member Is Offline
Mood: Logical
|
|
Slow Mouse
This more of an annoyance than bug.
I have just installed version 3.01 of DivDx on my 64 bit Linux Mint box. Working my way through MikeDX's Platform Tutorial and noticed that the mouse
moves much slower that it normally does. This is most annoying whilst trying to create a sprite with the editor.
I move the mouse beyond the DivDX 'panels' and onto my Desktop and the mouse behaves normally. Move it back and it slows down... curious...
I am not sure if I have done something wrong; or if it's an existing problem; or a machine issue - or all of the above... lol
I would appreciate some advice. Working the tutorial is quite tedious when the mouse is so slow...
Thank you.
J
May your journey be free of incident.
Live long and prosper.
|
|
CicTec
DIV Pro
Posts: 471
Registered: 6-8-2016
Member Is Offline
|
|
Hi johnno56,
Mouse in DivDX has own speed control, separately from OS.
You can control and change mouse speed with "mouse.speed" field.
For more info how use the "mouse" structure, simply press F1, on Index select "Predefined global data" then select "STRUCT mouse", You will see a
complete description of the mouse structure and all its fields.
[Edited on 8-1-2017 by CicTec]
|
|
johnno56
DIV Junior
Posts: 10
Registered: 8-1-2017
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Member Is Offline
Mood: Logical
|
|
Ok. I found the mouse.speed field and noticed the speed can be changed from max (0) to min (9) with a default of (2) but it did not say how this is to
be done. Sorry for making this so difficult. I know absolutely nothing about DivDX... *sigh*
J
May your journey be free of incident.
Live long and prosper.
|
|
MikeDX
|
|
Hi johnno
No need to apologise, we all have to learn and start from somewhere
|
|
CicTec
DIV Pro
Posts: 471
Registered: 6-8-2016
Member Is Offline
|
|
Quote: Originally posted by johnno56 | Ok. I found the mouse.speed field and noticed the speed can be changed from max (0) to min (9) with a default of (2) but it did not say how this is to
be done. Sorry for making this so difficult. I know absolutely nothing about DivDX... *sigh*
J |
No need to apologize, no problem.
The DIV mouse system is very simple, only need to change the value of mouse.speed, then will the internal system to calculate the speed using its own
algorithm.
|
|
johnno56
DIV Junior
Posts: 10
Registered: 8-1-2017
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Member Is Offline
Mood: Logical
|
|
Is there a document that contains the contents of Help? Navigating F1 with a slow mouse is almost painful... lol
J
May your journey be free of incident.
Live long and prosper.
|
|
johnno56
DIV Junior
Posts: 10
Registered: 8-1-2017
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Member Is Offline
Mood: Logical
|
|
[/rquote]
No need to apologize, no problem.
The DIV mouse system is very simple, only need to change the value of mouse.speed, then will the internal system to calculate the speed using its own
algorithm.[/rquote]
I figured that changing mouse.speed would do the trick. But, how exactly, do I do that?
J
May your journey be free of incident.
Live long and prosper.
|
|
MikeDX
|
|
Changing the mouse struct only works for your programs (games)
To change the sped in the IDE, you need to change the settings:
Main Menu -> System -> Configuration
Then there is a mouse slider in there.
What's curious about this is that the mouse should be in the same place as your desktop cursor.
What build are you using? If it's beta 13 then you should try the latest nightly build (from Dec 1st I believe) or if you are feeling brave you can
compile it yourself!
As for the help - there is a pdf of the entire manual, which is a good source of documentation or you can open the text file help/help.div which can
be opened in a text editor but not quite as nicely human readable.
|
|
MikeDX
|
|
Ok That is actually only the mouse pointer in the IDE.
What you have there my friend is a bug.
Let us know what build you are using and we can try to fix it. The mouse should be the same speed as your desktop
|
|
CicTec
DIV Pro
Posts: 471
Registered: 6-8-2016
Member Is Offline
|
|
Quote: Originally posted by johnno56 | Is there a document that contains the contents of Help? Navigating F1 with a slow mouse is almost painful... lol
J[/rquote]
No at moment, sorry, the DOC is available only in integrated format.
Quote: Originally posted by johnno56 |
No need to apologize, no problem.
The DIV mouse system is very simple, only need to change the value of mouse.speed, then will the internal system to calculate the speed using its own
algorithm. |
I figured that changing mouse.speed would do the trick. But, how exactly, do I do that?
J
|
In your game code simply apply a value from 0 to 9 to mouse.speed, for example to have maximum speed:
Code: |
begin
mouse.speed = 9;
...
end
|
|
|
CicTec
DIV Pro
Posts: 471
Registered: 6-8-2016
Member Is Offline
|
|
@Mike, settings in the IDE i think are referred only to mouse speed of paint editor.
The mouse speed in DIV has no bug, simply use an algoritm that is more slow than OS.
|
|
johnno56
DIV Junior
Posts: 10
Registered: 8-1-2017
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Member Is Offline
Mood: Logical
|
|
Ok. First thing. Found the mouse "slider" in the configuration and is already set to the lowest (left). Tested by moving it all the way right... I
didn't think the mouse could move soooo slow... lol
I installed the Beta 13 version from the website (build ab9d337). I hope this helps.
J
May your journey be free of incident.
Live long and prosper.
|
|
MikeDX
|
|
The mouse in the IDE should move the same speed and position as the desktop as absolute position rather than measuring mouse movement.
Johnno56, try the latest nightly build from here
http://div-arena.co.uk/downloads/nightly
Also are you running full screen or windowed?
The latest nightly has fixed many bugs from beta13 so that is definitely a good place to start.
|
|
johnno56
DIV Junior
Posts: 10
Registered: 8-1-2017
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Member Is Offline
Mood: Logical
|
|
CicTec,
Have not started any coding any game as yet. The lack of speed seems to be within the IDE
J
May your journey be free of incident.
Live long and prosper.
|
|
CicTec
DIV Pro
Posts: 471
Registered: 6-8-2016
Member Is Offline
|
|
Please to make sure to have last stable build, download the last nightly build from here: http://div-arena.co.uk/downloads/nightly beacuse the home page needs a few updates that have not yet been able to make.
[Edited on 8-1-2017 by CicTec]
|
|
CicTec
DIV Pro
Posts: 471
Registered: 6-8-2016
Member Is Offline
|
|
Ok, have you been able to solve the problem with the settings indicated by mike?
|
|
johnno56
DIV Junior
Posts: 10
Registered: 8-1-2017
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Member Is Offline
Mood: Logical
|
|
Both you and Mike have suggested the latest build. Downloaded and installed. The speed problem still exists. But its not too bad. Just a slight delay.
(build dc8b7e5) Each Time I ran DivDX it was in windowed mode. Tested full screen. Same results as windowed.
I will continue with the tutorial and the graphics editor and report back. It's gone midnight, here in Oz, and may have to continue after some shut
eye. Many thanks for the help so far. Much appreciated. Will continue tomorrow... Good night.
J
May your journey be free of incident.
Live long and prosper.
|
|
CicTec
DIV Pro
Posts: 471
Registered: 6-8-2016
Member Is Offline
|
|
Ok, than is a bug of the system to be fixed, thanks you for the report.
|
|
johnno56
DIV Junior
Posts: 10
Registered: 8-1-2017
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Member Is Offline
Mood: Logical
|
|
Just an update...
Had a crazy thought... yes, I know, most of them are... ha.. ha..
I downloaded the Windows version, directly from the website, and ran it through Wine. DivDX actually ran and the mouse speed was normal... Cool. (...
surprised, because some Windows programs, refuse to run via Wine...)
Conclusion: Possible glitch in the Linux 64 bit version. Not a system resource issue; Not a brain or failing eyesight problem... whew!
I have no problem running the Windows version for now. But, I moved over to Linux more than 10 years ago, to get away from windows... Ouch.. lol...
If there is a glitch in the Linux 64 bit version, and if the alleged glitch can be fixed, how will I know?
In the meantime, I going to tackle the Platform tutorial again, and hopefully this time I will get it finished... lol
Thanks for your help, guys. ("guys" was meant as generic for "all" as "mankind" implies "all" - no offense intended...)
J
May your journey be free of incident.
Live long and prosper.
|
|
MikeDX
|
|
It's interesting you find this bug in the linux 64bit version as that's the platform i use to develop on, and moved away from windows over 10 years
ago myself.
Maybe you could try compiling the code yourself and see if it's an issue with cross binaries from debian.
Could be anything... Who knows!
Good luck on the tutorial.
|
|